My opinions on Kingsman: The Secret Service

*SOME SPOILERS*

As you can probably guess from the title of this post, I am giving my opinions on Kingsman: The Secret Service. I went to see this the other day with Danny whilst on a date 😉 (He paid!) When Danny first mentioned this film I didn’t know anything, I hadn’t even seen the trailer. So Danny showed me it and I instantly fell in love, I had to see this film.

Trailer.

Gary “Eggsy” Unwin (Taron Egerton), whose late father secretly worked for a spy organisation, lives in a South London housing estate and seems headed for a life behind bars. However, dapper agent Harry Hart (Colin Firth) recognises potential in the youth and recruits him to be a trainee in the secret service. Meanwhile, villainous Richmond Valentine (Samuel L. Jackson) launches a diabolical plan to solve the problem of climate change via a worldwide killing spree.

I came out of this film so excited and so enthralled by it I would’ve happily gone back in and watched again and again, but as it was a late night showing that wouldn’t of happened! (Sad times) When I told Danny that this film was quickly becoming my new favourite film he accused me of suffering from new film syndrome, where I watch a film I’ve never seen before and instantly get attached, His point was that it happened with The Guest. (Check out my blog post on it. )

Anyway I will proceed to tell you why this is an awesome film and let you be the judge of it yourself when you go see it!
Point Number 1: It was directed by Matthew Vaughn who has done some of my favourite films, Kick-Ass and Stardust
Point Number 2: It has a star studded cast: Michael Caine, Colin Firth and Samuel L. Jackson.
Point Number 3: The acting is awesome
Point Number 4: Has funny moments throughout the film which make it more enjoyable and less serious
Point Number 5: Has very suave characters as well as a strong female lead!
Point Number 6: Grabs and keeps your attention all the way through the film
Point Number 7: No boring parts
Point Number 8: It has two separate story lines that merge into one at the end.
Point Number 9: Good soundtrack, ranging from the late 90’s till present day
Point Number 10:The way the action packed sections are filmed make them more interesting to watch (Like Kick-Ass)
Point Number 11: It makes you want to become a Kingsman at the end of it and be as awesome as the characters.
Point Number 12: Makes you appreciate a man in a suit more then you already do! (You know what I mean girls, who doesn’t love a man in a suit 😉 )
Point Number 13: It finishes exactly how it starts.
Point Number 14: It is filmed exactly how an action packed film should be

(some good points there I think!)

I really enjoyed this film and would love to go see it again. This also may be the first ever film I buy on Blu-Ray because it’s going to be extended cut version. I also can’t wait to see a sequel?!?!?!?!

There was a couple of things I didn’t like, They cut out some of the gory parts (still had a lot in – don’t worry) just so it could be a 12. I mean COME ON GIVE US SOME GORE!! Once again America got all the best bits! They also had a couple of loose ends in the way it was shown. For example they bring candidates of the street who have probably never been in a fight before yet at the end the main character is amazing at fighting. They may have filmed some scenes where they show them learning the martial arts skills but it wasn’t shown, they could’ve at least maybe hinted at a martial arts class.

All in all I would give this film a 9/10 and will be telling everyone to go see it as it is a MUST WATCH!! 🙂

Yours truly

Sophie x

9 thoughts on “My opinions on Kingsman: The Secret Service

Leave a Reply

