A special guest post

Show me somebody who doesn’t enjoy video games and I’ll show you an invisible cat. Personally, they’ve been a part of my life for about 16 years, and I have many favourites, many stories, and more importantly… enough to fill a blog post!

I may as well start off with my favourite game of all time – Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. I was 15 when I first played it, and I don’t think I’ve ever fully recovered from the sheer rush of adrenaline I felt whilst fighting helicopters, playing cat and mouse with a tank, exploring a Tibetan ice cave, and generally being a badass Indiana Jones-meets-Tomb Raider treasure hunting smooth talking artifact thief.

The story and characters are sublime, the game is perfectly paced, and the multiplayer is still one of the best around. If you haven’t played it yet…. play it!

Speaking of multiplayer, one of the obvious joys of gaming is playing with others (not like that). When I’m not losing to Sophie at Mario Kart, I’m dressing in silly costumes in LittleBigPlanet, popping head shots in Call of Duty, and hunting badgers (unsuccessfully) in Far Cry 4. When I first got my PS1 back in 1998, multiplayer was but an unheard of feature, with most games not embracing even simple couch co-op. Skip ahead a decade, and the tables have turned – multiplayer reigns over single player. This is most obvious when you look at the ridiculous multiplayer mode that Arkham Origins – the third entry in the single player Batman franchise – received.

Yet, even if it feels tacked on, it’s all so much fun! Would you rather go bowling, or to a restaurant, or swimming, by yourself? Of course not! Multiplayer brings everybody together, even hardenened non gamers like my mother, who absolutely loves a bit of Mario Kart.

All this aside, I think the reason games continue to grow and evolve is that they transport us to different worlds, to places and experiences we would never get in real life. And – unlike the movies that do the same – WE get to play the hero.

And that’s all I have on the matter! Thanks to Sophie for letting me be a guest writer, and thanks for not killing me for being a day late 😆

As far as my other online endeavours are concerned, you can find me on the Twitter thingy @danifye, and I upload slightly oddball gaming videos on my YouTube channel,

http://bit.ly/1Dn9BpL – Youtube Channel
https://twitter.com/danifye – Twitter

Thanks for reading, and I hope you have an awesome day!

Leave a Reply

